AA HISTORY SITES IN AND AROUND NEW YORK CITY

THE HEADQUARTERS BUILDINGS

17 William Street (near Broad Street)
Newark, New Jersey
Hank P. and Bill W. set up the first AA "headquarters" office here at the office of Honor Dealers, an auto dealership owned by Hank. Bill wrote much of the Big Book from this office. Ruth Hock had begun working for Hank as a secretary and now worked with Bill on the book; she was AA's first non-alcoholic employee. The office remained here from about 1938 to 1940.

30 Vesey Street (Vesey and Church Streets)
Manhattan, New York
The second headquarters office of Alcoholics Anonymous and Works Publishing Inc., after Bill split with Hank. The group operated here in Room 703 from 1940 to 1944.

415 Lexington Avenue (Lexington and 43rd Streets)
Manhattan, New York
AA headquarters moved to the Grand Central area after Bill and Lois found their new home at Stepping Stones in Bedford Hills. Bill could take a train from Bedford Hills to Grand Central and walk from there to his new office, making for an easier commute. The offices remained here from about 1944 to 1950. The new mailing address was PO Box 459, Grand Central Annex.

141 East 44th Street (44th Street between 3rd and Lexington Avenues)
Manhattan, New York
Still close to Grand Central Terminal, the headquarters moved to this larger office in 1950 to accommodate the growing organization. The office remained here until 1960.

305 East 45th Street (45th Street and 2nd Avenue)
Manhattan, New York
Again, the growing group moved to larger quarters, still in the Grand Central area. It stayed in this building from 1960 until 1970.

468-470 Park Avenue South (31st Street and Park Avenue South)
Manhattan, New York
This served as AA's General Service Office for over two decades (1970-1992), eventually occupying five floors in two buildings.

475 Riverside Drive (between 119th and 120th Streets)
Manhattan, New York
The General Service Office moved to this building, adjacent to the Riverside Church, in 1992. Offices occupy the 11th floor, with Grapevine offices on the 10th floor. John D. Rockefeller made the entire block of land available for the structure, which houses many church groups, interdenominational agencies, and nonprofit organizations. The office is open for tours during business hours, five days a week. Appointments are not necessary; visitors can just stop by.

WHERE ALCOHOLICS WENT FOR HELP

Towns Hospital
293 Central Park West (between 89th and 90th Streets)
Manhattan, New York
Bill landed in Towns Hospital four times between 1933 and 1934 for treatment of alcoholism, and ultimately had a spiritual experience there in 1934 that led to his sobriety. Dr. William Silkworth, Medical Superintendent at Towns, treated 40,000 alcoholics there, including Bill W., and wrote "The Doctor's Opinion" in the book 'Alcoholics Anonymous'.

Calvary Episcopal Church
237 Park Avenue South (4th Avenue and 21st Street), and
Calvary Mission
246 East 23rd Street (2nd Avenue at 23rd Street)
Manhattan, New York
Bill attended meetings of the Oxford Group here from 1934 to 1936, and got sober along with Ebby T., Rowland H., Cebra G., Hank P., and many others. Samuel Shoemaker, source of AA's spiritual principles via the Oxford Group, was the pastor of Calvary and originally brought Oxford Group meetings to New York City.

30 Rockefeller Plaza (off 48th Street)
Manhattan, New York
Here Bill met Willard Richardson, who was a friend of his brother-in-law and the conduit to John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Bill met with Rockefeller in October 1937 in his 66th floor office and told him about the AA program. Their meeting went well, and in many ways Rockefeller helped the fledgling organization get started.