Stepping Stones Foundation

Entrance in Spring

Stepping Stones is open to the public year round and the visitor experience changes with the seasons of the region. Lois would move the furniture in their home to optimize and enjoy the dramatic seasonal changes from summer to winter.

“In the spring of 1941 they moved into their Bedford Hills home, and named it, in the fashion of the day and in this case quite fittingly, Stepping Stones.  It was not a settled time anyplace on earth, but in 1941 Bill and Lois, after twenty-three years of marriage, got their first taste of that special security that comes from having a house of one’s own.”  –Robert Thomsen, Bill W.